Announcement on Election Result: New TCB Council Members (from September 2016 to September 2018)

BY IN Events & Announcements, News & Press Release Comments Off on Announcement on Election Result: New TCB Council Members (from September 2016 to September 2018)

4th July 2016

Dear Tibetan Community members,

On behalf of the TCB Election Committee, we are very pleased to announce the election result of our new TCB council members for the office term from September 2016 to September 2018.

The election was held on Saturday, 2nd July 2016 at Sir James Hawkey Hall, London during the 81st Birthday Celebration of His Holiness the Dalai Lama. The votes were counted at the Tibet House on Sunday, 3rd July in the presence of our special Observer and TCB members. The result was immediately declared to our members at Jamyang Buddhist Centre after the Tibetan Community prayer meeting.

We have seen a record turnout for this year’s council election. A total of 100 Tibetan members participated in the election of our new community leaders (council members), including one postal vote! Some 104 Tibetan members have received votes, ranging from 1 to 50 in this council election.

As per our previous practice, we have shortlisted the top 15 candidates, who have received the most votes, ranging from 16 to 50. And, also as per our previous circular, we are announcing the first seven Tibetan members, who have received the most votes. They are:

1. Mr Tenzin Samphel (50 votes)
2. Mr Phuntsok Dalu (47 votes)
3. Mr Phuntsok Norbu (43 votes)
4. Mr Pempa Lobsang (40 votes)
5. Mr Dalha Tsering (35 votes)
6. Mr Jampa Gyaltsen (32 votes)
7. Mr Karma Churatsang (29 votes)

We take this opportunity to extend our warmest congratulations to the newly elected Council members (Dhang-shab-pa) to lead the Tibetan Community in Britain over the next two years.

We also wish to thank our members for taking part in the democratic election of new leaders of Tibetan Community in Britain.

This year’s Council election was conducted by the TCB Election Committee, led by the incumbent TCB Chairman Mr Tsering Passang with Mr Tenzin Kunga, Secretary at The Office of Tibet as our special Observer.

With best wishes,

Tsering Passang
(On behalf of TCB Election Committee & TCB Chairman)